Staff Picks

Staff Review
Cover art of The Light We Lost

The Light We Lost

By Santopolo, Jill
Rated by Kari E.
Mar 11, 2018

Lucy Clark meets Gabe Samson in a Shakespeare class on September 11th. The pair spend the day together anxiously watching the news and later viewing the holes in the skyline where the Twin Towers once stood. This day shapes their lives. After a turbulent year apart, the couple reunites and begins dating. Their idyllic love is passionate, deep, and all consuming. But their careers pull them apart. Lucy wants to stay in New York working on a children's television show.

Staff Review
Kenobi Cover


By John Jackson Miller
Rated by Dylan R
Mar 9, 2018

Set shortly after the events detailed in Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the SithKenobi tells a story of Obi-Wan Kenobi adjusting to his new life on the desert planet of Tatooine. Charged with not only concealing his Jedi past from those who might seek to cause him harm, Obi-Wan also faces the teeny-tiny task of somehow managing--from afar--to protect the life of the youth who just might be the savior of the galaxy!

Staff Review
Young lady with long hair pulled back, black sweater over v-neck white shirt

Meet the Author: Hannah Jane Weber

By Hannah Jane Weber
Rated by Helen H.
Mar 7, 2018

At Johnson County Library, we love local authors. And when that local author is one of our own, we can't help but celebrate! Before transferring to our Leawood Library to work in the Youth Services Department, Hannah Jane Weber was active in our writing programs. We are proud to share that Hannah Jane had been awarded the 2017 Dylan Thomas American Award for the poem "Scenic Rail Tour" which is published in issue 63 of Rosebud.

Staff Review
ugly brown border with yummy Bacon pizza

Cool Bacon Recipes

By Kuskowski, Alex
Rated by Terri B.
Mar 5, 2018

Do not let the unattractive cover of Cool Bacon Recipes fool you into not checking this book out for your child. Because if you like bacon, check out these easy recipes. This book did not have very many recipes, but what it did have looked appetizing. The explanation of utensils and terms is perfect for 3rd - 6th graders with the guidance of an adult. And the step by step pictures are always a plus!

Staff Review Mar 3, 2018

The latest in the Assassin's Creed juggernaut, Origins (available for PS4 and XBoxOne) is immediately striking due to the sheer amount of pretty.  The vast expanses of desert, the detail in the cities, the shining pyramids, the stars in the sky...this game is gorgeous.  Happily, it's more than just a pretty face!

Teen Staff Review
Book cover


By Philip Reeve
Rated by Chris K.
Mar 2, 2018

Wonderfully exciting action that maintains just the right amount of suspense and energy from start to finish. At heart, this is a heist story; it just happens to be set in a universe of wonder: under the adrenaline are fascinating world-building and intriguing characters--of all shapes and sizes, far beyond human. And lurking somewhere in the background are enthralling science fiction considerations that keep simmering into awareness. It's not just action, but intelligent action. With excellently adept, unobtrusive writing. This is a universe I hope to visit again soon.

Staff Review Mar 1, 2018

Things work a little differently in the small, secluded town of Pine Mountain, Colorado. Magic is real and our world is not the only one that exists.  

Staff Review
Cover America's Forgotten Pandemic

America's Forgotten Pandemic

By Alfred W Crosby
Rated by Joyce M
Feb 27, 2018

America's Forgotten Pandemic is truly terrifying. The influenza pandemic of 1918 killed more people than the bubonic plague; in the U.S., 670,000 people died in 15 months. When you read of the great numbers of people dying, whole families succumbing, shortages of coffins, it’s nearly unbelievable.

Staff Review Feb 20, 2018

After writing about the struggles of Gen X and Millennials in 2006's Generation Me, and the rise of society-wide obsession with self in 2009's Narcissism Epidemic, Dr. Twenge then set her sights on a new, decidedly different, group of young people.

Staff Review
Man in blue denim button up shirt in pensive pose

Time Writing Contest Winner

By Frank Higgins
Rated by Helen H.
Feb 19, 2018

The Readers Advisory committee is pleased to announce that Frank Higgins has won our TIME poetry contest with his poem "The Summer We're All Sixteen". We love way the poem circles back on itself and illustrates both the universality of time and its unique passage for each of us.

Frank Higgins writes plays, and occasionally poetry and haiku.


The summer we’re all sixteen